Meaningful Use Stage 1 & 2 Risk Assessment

The United States federal government released its criteria for the meaningful use of electronic health records (EHRs) on July 13, 2010. According to the provisions of the Healthcare Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), healthcare organizations that have achieved meaningful use will be eligible for their share of the $20 billion-plus government-offered financial incentives based on how well eligible professionals ‘use’ certified EHR technology to meet fifteen core and five (out of ten) discretionary objectives. Risk assessment is one of the fifteen core mandatory requirements. Those who have failed to achieve these standards by 2015 may be penalized.

Three Stages of Meaningful Use

The three stages of meaningful use under the CMS EHR incentive program will roll out over the course of the next five years:

  • Stage 1 (2011 and 2012) sets the baseline for electronic data capture and information sharing. This stage includes a 90-day attestation reporting period. As reported in Government Technology, hospitals must begin their 90-day attestation period no later than July 3 and physicians by Oct. 1.  The reporting period is 90 days as long as it is the first payment year for that particular provider—whether that year is 2011, 2012, 2013, or even 2014.
  • Stage Two (2013 & 2014) ”On September 4 2012, CMS published a final rule that specifies the Stage 2 criteria that eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) must meet in order to continue to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs. All providers must achieve meaningful use under the Stage 1 criteria before moving to Stage 2.
  • Stage 3 (expected to be implemented in 2015) will continue to expand on this baseline and be developed through future rulemaking  

Certified EHR Technology

Further, “to get an incentive payment, you must use an EHR that is certified specifically for the EHR Incentive Programs. Certified EHR technology gives assurance to purchasers and other users that an EHR system or module offers the necessary technological capability, functionality, and security to help them meet the meaningful use criteria. Certification also helps providers and patients be confident that the electronic health IT products and systems they use are secure, can maintain data confidentially, and can work with other systems to share information.”

The SMP Solution

SMP’s meaningful use risk assessment will help your healthcare organization comply with the requirements under 45 CFR 164.308(a)(1) and identify security vulnerabilities as part of your risk management process so that you may confidently apply for meaningful use funds and reap the financial benefits of compliance.

Meaningful Use Risk Assessment in Action

Learn how Monadnock Community Hospital partnered with SMP to implement a four-pronged risk analysis so that they could apply for meaningful use incentives and feel confident about their compliance with regulatory standards. 

Notice: Information for this page was collected and quoted from the US Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) website. For more information, please reference the CMS website.